Thursday, May 12, 2005

Blocked Judicial Nominees


In the political world there is a lot of talk about blocked judicial nominees and the proper interpretation of the "advice and consent" role of the Senate.

One question I had was: who are these judges being blocked. A quick Google search yield this news item. Drum roll please ... snip and paste from the item linked above ...
Those the White House said will be renominated, the respective courts and the dates on which they were first nominated are:

For the Court of Appeals:

  • Terrence W. Boyle (4th Circuit; May 9, 2001)
  • Priscilla Richman Owen (5th Circuit; May 9, 2001)
  • David W. McKeague (6th Circuit; Nov. 8, 2001)
  • Susan Bieke Neilson (6th Circuit; Nov. 8, 2001)
  • Henry W. Saad (6th Circuit; Nov. 8, 2001)
  • Richard A. Griffin (6th Circuit; June 26, 2002)
  • William H. Pryor (11th Circuit; April 9, 2003)
  • William Gerry Myers III (9th Circuit; May 15, 2003)
  • Janice Rogers Brown (D.C. Circuit; July 25, 2003)
  • Brett M. Kavanaugh (D.C. Circuit; July 25, 2003)
  • William James Haynes II (4th Circuit; Sept. 29, 2003)
  • Thomas B. Griffith (D.C. Circuit; May 10, 2004)
  • For District Courts:

  • James C. Dever III (Eastern District, N.C.; May 22, 2002)
  • Thomas L. Ludington (Eastern District, Mich.; Sept. 12, 2002)
  • Robert J. Conrad (Western District, N.C.; April 28, 2003)
  • Daniel P. Ryan (Eastern District, Mich.; April 28, 2003)
  • Peter G. Sheridan (N.J.; Nov. 5, 2003)
  • Paul A. Crotty (Southern District, N.Y.; Sept. 7, 2004)
  • Sean F. Cox (Eastern District, Mich.; Sept. 10, 2004)
  • J. Michael Seabright (Hawaii, Sept. 15, 2004)
  • The Democrats claim that these people are radical judges outside of the mainstream and must be stopped. The Republicans claim they are respected jurists and should get an up/down vote by the Senate.

    Who is telling the truth hear? On what basis would fair-minded people make that determination?



    Post a Comment

    Links to this post:

    Create a Link

    << Home